Using Twitter has its advantages. Not only do you get a minute-by-minute update on what’s going on in the world, but you also get your daily dose of meme updates on the platform. In addition, you will have the opportunity to debate issues that are important to you and topics that you wish to discuss. However, there is a disadvantage to using Twitter. With its toxic banter, the platform can easily overwhelm anyone. As a result, it is natural for you to want to take a break from Twitter.

Deactivating your account is one of the many ways you can disconnect from the platform. When you deactivate your Twitter account, your username (or Twitter “handle”) and public profile are no longer visible on twitter.com, Twitter for iOS, or Twitter for Android. After deactivating your account, you have a 30-day window to sign in and begin using the platform. When this time period expires, your Twitter account will be permanently deleted, and your username will be assigned to someone else.

Deactivate a Twitter Account Using the Twitter App

Step 1: In the Twitter app, tap the Home button to open the side panel.

Step 2: Scroll down and tap the app’s Settings and Privacy section.

Step 3: Select Your Account from the drop-down menu.

Step 4: Select the Deactivate Account option.

Step 5: Finally, press the Deactivate button.

Step 6: Type in your password and confirm your choice.

Deactivate a Twitter Account Using Twitter.com

Step 1: Open a web browser and navigate to Twitter.com to sign in to your account.

Step 2: In the bottom left corner of your screen, click the More icon, and then select Settings and privacy from the drop-down menu.

Step 3: Select Deactivate your account from the Your Account tab.

Step 4: Select Deactivate from the drop-down menu.

Step 5: Enter your password and confirm your choice by clicking the Deactivate account button.