HomeHow toHow to turn off Telegram “Contact joined” notification alerts

How to turn off Telegram “Contact joined” notification alerts

Telegram

Telegram offers more feature-rich and functional than WhatsApp and other texting apps. Telegram constantly introduces new talking features. Messages disappearing? First, Telegram. Delete or amend sent messages; huge groups; large file support; PDF support; and more? Yes, they all started on Telegram before inspiring WhatsApp and others. New features keep improving the service.

As much as I prefer Telegram, one thing bugs me. “[Your contact] joined Telegram” alerts. If you have a large personal and professional contact list, you will rapidly tyre of these notifications because someone new is always joining the platform. If you’re annoyed by unsolicited alerts, we can help through this article on how to disable those notification alerts by following the steps below;

There’s a simple way to turn off “Contact joined Telegram” alerts: Here’s how

  • Launch the Telegram app on your device.
  • Settings can be found under the hamburger menu. 
  • Now, go to Settings and select Notifications and Sounds. 
  • Scroll down to the Events section on the next screen.
  • The contact joined Telegram toggle is located here. Switch it off. 
  • That’s it. From now on, Telegram won’t notify you whenever someone from your contact list joins the service.

But… Despite turning off alerts, you’ll still get in-app chat messages when contacts join Telegram. This fills your chat tab with empty chats, and you can’t stop it. You must manually delete these messages. At least you won’t get a proactive ping to check whether someone you’ll never text has joined Telegram.


Follow Tech n Spice on TwitterFacebook and subscribe to our YouTube channel for the latest videos tech newsleakstips & tricks, top-notch gadget reviews of the most interesting releases, and some Automobile NewsAlso, follow us on Google News for the latest updates.


DisclosureSome of the links in the website are affiliate links, meaning that at no additional cost to you but, we will receive a commission if you click through and make a purchase.

FOLLOW US

8,306FansLike
1,026FollowersFollow
26FollowersFollow
1,960FollowersFollow
496FollowersFollow
16,500SubscribersSubscribe

Related Stories